Selective conversion of alcohols and phenols to tetrahydropyranyl ethers catalyzed with N-chlorosaccharin under mild and solvent-free conditions

Document Type : Articles


School of Chemistry, Damghan University, Damghan, 36715-364, Iran.


An efficient method is described for the mild and rapid tetrahydropyranylation of alcohols and phenols using a catalytic amount of N-chlorosaccharin (1 mol %) and 3, 4-dihydro-2H-pyran under solvent-free condition at room temperature. Benzylic alcohols and phenols containing electron withdrawing or donating groups in various positions of phenyl ring, cinamyl alcohol, primary, secondary, tertiary as well as cyclic alcohols are converted to their corresponding tetrahydropyranyl ethers in short reaction times and in excellent yields via the present method. Primary benzylic alcohols in the presence of secondary ones and also primary or secondary aliphatic alcohols in the presence of tertiary ones can be efficiently tetrahydropyranylated with excellent selectivity via this method.


[1] T.W. Greene, P.G.M. Wuts, Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis, 2nd ed., Wiley, New York, 1991.
[2] N. Deka, J.C. Sarma, Synth. Commun. 30 (2000) 4435-4441.
[3] B.P. Bandgar, V.S. Sadavarte, L.S. Uppalla, S.V. Patil, Monatsh. Chem. 134 (2003) 425-428.
[4] V.V. Namboodiri, R.S. Varma, Tetrahedron Lett. 43 (2002) 1143-1146.
[5] J.R. Stephens, P.L. Butler, C.H. Clow, M.C. Oswald, R.C. Smith, R.S. Mohan, Eur. J. Org. Chem. 2003 (2003) 3827-3831.
[6] Y.-G. Wang, X.-X. Wu, Z.-Y. Jiang, Tetrahedron Lett. 45 (2004) 2973-2976.
[7] Y.J. Kim, R.S. Varma, Tetrahedron Lett. 46 (2005) 1467-1469.
[8] D. M. Pore, U.V. Desai, R.B. Mane, P.P. Wadgaonkar, Synth. Commun. 34 (2004) 2135-2142.
[9] A.T. Khan, L.H. Choudhury, S. Ghosh, Tetrahedron Lett. 45 (2004) 7891-7894.
[10] A.T. Khan, T. Parvin, L.H. Choudhury, Synthesis (2006) 2497-2502.
[11] F. Shirini, M.A. Zolfigol, A.R. Abri, Chin. Chem. Lett. 18 (2007) 803-806.
[12] P.S. Poon, A.K. Banerjee, L. Bedoya, M.S. Laya, E.V. Cabrera, K.M. Albornoz, Synth. Commun. 39 (2009) 3369-3377.
[13] D.B.G. Williams, S.B. Simelane, M. Lawton, H.H. Kinfe, Tetrahedron 66 (2010) 4573-4576.
[14] A.A. Dos Santos, Jr. G.A. Brito, M.V.L. Archilha, T.G. A. Bele, G.P. Dos Santos, M.B.M. De Mello, J. Braz. Chem. Soc. 20 (2009) 42-45.
[15] N. Bodipati, S.R. Palla, R.K. Peddinti, Indian J. Chem. 51B (2012) 356-361.
[16] K. Tanemura, T. Suzuki, Tetrahedron Lett. 54 (2013) 6740-6743.
[17] S.A. Van den Berg, R.A.M. Frijns, T. Wennekes, H. Zuihof, J. Flow Chem. 5 (2015) 95-100.
[18] (a) N. Iranpoor, H. Firouzabadi, G. Aghapour, Synlett (2001) 1176-1178. (b) N. Iranpoor, H. Firouzabadi, G. Aghapour, Synth. Commun. 32 (2002) 2535-2541. (c) G. Aghapour, A. Afzali, Synth. Commun. 38 (2008) 4023-4035. (d) G. Aghapour, A. Afzali, Phosphorus Sulfur Silicon Relat. Elem. 186 (2011) 598-605. (e) G. Aghapour, A. Kazemi Moghaddam, S. Nadali, J. Chin. Chem. Soc. 62 (2015) 197-203.
[19] S.P.L. De Souza, J.F.M. Dasilva, M.C.S. De Mattos, Synth. Commun. 33 (2003) 935-939.
[20] J.H.V. Boom, J.D.M. Herschied, Synthesis (1973) 169-170.
[21] T.H. Fife, L.K. Jao, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 90 (1968) 4081-4085.